Comments or Suggestions?

​​Copyright 2013. All rights reserved.

Boy Scouts of America, Troop #80

Troop #80, of the Boy Scouts of America, was organized in Elmer by James Stooky in 1951. The P.T.A. sponsored the Scouts. Wendell Mathis, Harry Fletcher and Bernice Mock were on the advisory board. Charter scout members included: Ronald Spencer, Jimmie Dorson, Frank Pike, Robert Lehr, Jerry Sturgess, John H. Wilkin, Jr., Willis Greenstreet, Charles Conley, Joe Sturgess, Larry Fletcher, Orin Mock and Marvin Peek. Other members were James Parrett, Larry Helton, J.W. Hays, Herman Koger, Bob Fain, Joe Mendenhall, Jerry Thomas, Paul Johnson, Vernon Baker and Earl Pyle.

In 1857, the last year that the organization was active, officers and other members were as follows: Bernice Mock, Scout Master, Assistant Scout Masters, Orin Mock, Willis Greenstreet and Larry Fletcher; Patrol Leaders, Leon Mott and Gary Parrett; members of the “Wolf” patrol (leader Mott), Franklin Greenstreet, John Mathis, Jerry Hall, Bobby Conley and Jackie Rhoades; members of the “Bob White” patrol (leader C. Parrett), Jimmy Grigsby, Baxter Haley, Tom West and David West. New members were C.R. Bergmann, Melvin Magers, Ray Agee, Larry Grigsby and Paul Mendenhall.

Meetings were held every Friday night at 7:30 p.m. at the old Atteberry farm.

                   Top Row: L. to R.: Ronald Spencer, Jim Dorson, Frank Pike, Robert Lehr and Jerry S

                   Middle Row: John H. Wilkin, Jr. and Willis Greenstreet.

                  Bottom Row: Charles Conley, Joe Sturgess, Larry Fletcher and Orin Mock.

(And a little info about Mercyville)